F.S.K meets Anthony ‘Shake’ Shakir – First take then Shake

FSK - First take then Shake


FSK - First take then Shake 








Mono - Console

DB123 | DB123CD

Release Date: 14.3.04

01. Swing To Bop
02. Ballroom
03. Kinski Jones
04. Salt Peanuts
05. In Loving Memory
06. Incident With The Dogs
07. Dr. Buzzard’s Original Savannah Band
08. Black Music
09. The Blues And The Abstract Truth
10. Tiger Rag
11. Tiger Rag Remixed

„First Take Then Shake“ is the 11th studio album of F.S.K. In the more than 20 years of their existence F.S.K. (still Thomas Meinecke, Michaela Melián, Justin Hoffmann, Wilfried Petzi and Carl Oesterhelt) have travelled an uncompared musical journey from new wave to country and since their 1996 disko B 12’’ “4 Instrumentals” (db61)  and the two albums “Tel Aviv” (1998) and “X” (2000) on Sub Up Records  deeper and deeper into band-oriented electronic music and its repetitive sound-structures between post-rock and post-electronica. 

F.S.K. are still the most invited non-english band to attend Peel-sessions and are one of the few german bands besides Can who were granted an entry in a book called the „Unknown Legends of Rock’N’Roll“.

In February 2003 they went to Uphon Studio/Weilheim with engineer Mario Thaler (The Notwist, Tied + Tickled Trio) for the fourth time and recorded their new album with one half of the tracks being instrumentals and the other half (again) songs with lyrics.

The roughmixes of these songs were sent to the Detroit-based afro-american techno/house legend Anthony “Shake” Shakir. F.S.K goes afro-germanic. In september Shakir flew to Munich with his sampler and one more week was spend together with the band in Weilheim producing  “First Take Then Shake”. A band Photograph was shot in front of the legendary BMW building: motor cities united. The first praise of this unusual cooperation already appeared in the most important german music magazines months before the album’s release.

“First Take Then Shake” is the first full length album of F.S.K. on Disko B. The artwork for the design of the album was realized by the german artist Olaf Nicolai. The portraits that were used for the cover are part of the series “The Blondes” (2003/2004).